The Bull Riding Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony

The Bull Riding Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony

Bull Riding Hall of Fame
The 2017 Bull Riding Hall of Fame Reunion and Induction Ceremony kicks off this Friday and runs thru Sunday in Cowtown Coliseum, and some of the greatest bull riders in rodeo will be on hand to celebrate the careers of the 2017 inductees.
Things kick-off Friday night with VIP Night at the Stockyards Championship Rodeo, when all of the inductees will be introduced and on-hand to sign autographs. Saturday night the festivities move to Los Vaqueros Restaurant, located on Main Street in the Stockyards. Sunday morning Rob Smets will conduct Cowboy Church at 9 a.m. in Cowtown Coliseum, and the official induction gets underway at 10 a.m.
This year’s inductees include Denny Flynn, a 10-time qualifier to the National Finals Rodeo and set a record for the most bull riding average titles at the National Finals Rodeo with three. Flynn was also runner-up for the world championship in 1980, losing to Don Gay by only $188.
Bill Kornell has the distinction of being the rookie of the year and world champion bull rider in the same year, which he accomplished in 1963. Kornell holds the record for being the youngest world champion bull rider and went on to qualify for seven trips to the National Finals Rodeo.
Dick Griffith started out his rodeo career as a trick rider and was a founding member of the Cowboys’ Turtle Association. During his career, Griffith won four consecutive world bull riding titles and also served as bull riding director of the Cowboys’ Turtle Association.
Randy Magers qualified for nine trips to the National Finals Rodeo and was twice runner-up to the world title. Majers also helped Tarleton State University men’s rodeo team win the 1967 national championship.
Chris Shivers won world titles in the PBR in 2002 and 2003. He was the first PBR bull rider to win more than $300,000 in a year and was also the first PBR member to cross the million, two-million and three-million-dollar mark in career earnings.
Lane Frost was the 1987 world champion and has become one of the most legendary names in bull riding. His career was cut tragically short when he was killed while competing in the bull riding at the Cheyenne Frontier Days Rodeo in 1989.
Rob Smets, one of the all-time great bullfighters, will be inducted. His bullfighting career spanned 28 years and included five world championships. He was selected to fight bulls at the National Finals Rodeo six times and the PBR World Finals nine times.
Legendary rodeo announcers Bob Tallman and Clem McSpadden are being inducted. McSpadden’s career spanned more than five decades and included announcing both the National Finals Rodeo and the Canadian Finals Rodeo multiple times. Tallman has been the voice of the Fort Worth Stock Show Rodeo for more than 30 years and announced the Wrangler National Finals Rodeo more times than any other announcer.
The final inductee is the infamous bull Bodacious, one of the most infamous bucking bulls of all time. Bodacious was twice bucking bull of the year and three-times bucking bull of the Finals. During his career, Bodacious bucked off 127 of 135 cowboys and was eventually retired after several cowboys suffered serious injuries while attempting to ride the great bull.
All of the events and activities for the hall of fame induction are open to the public and for more information visit


Over 9,000 Rodeo Competitions since 1908

Subscribe now

Want Rodeo news, results & standings, as well as our monthly newsletter? Sign up below to get on our list!